UNFILLED POSITIONS:

SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE and ACUTE CARE SURGERY FELLOWSHIPS

APPOINTMENT YEAR:  2020

Contact each Program directly or Submit Application using SAFAS (Surgical critical care and Acute care surgery Fellowship Application Service)

SAFAS  [ www.safas-sccpds.fluidreview.com ]

Arkansas

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
1 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Mary Kimbrough, MD, FACS-Program Director:
[ mkkimbrough@uams.edu  ]  or
Debra Moore-Program Coordinator:  [ mooredebras@uams.edu ]
(10/16/2019 – Submitted by:  Mary Kimbrough SCCPDS member, Little Rock, AR)

Connecticut

University of Connecticut
1 Position for either Acute Care Surgery – 2 years or Surgical Critical Care – 1 Year
Contact:   Julie Mitchell:  [ julie.mitchell@hhchealth.org ]
(10/18/2019 – Submitted by:  Julie Mitchell, Hartford, CT)

Florida

Kendall Regional Medical Center
1 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:   Eduardo Cartin:  [ eduardo.cartin@healthcare.com ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Eduardo Cartin, Miami, FL)

University of Central Florida/HCA GME Consortium
1 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:   Joshua Hagan, MD, FACS – Program Director:  [ joshua.hagan@hcahealthcare.com ]  or
Linda White-Program Coordinator:  [ linda.white5@hcahealthcare.com ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Linda White, Ocala, FL)

Georgia

Medical Center Navicent Health
2 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Ginny Land-Program Coordinator:  
[ land.virginia@navicenthealth.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Ginny Land, Macon, GA)

Memorial University Medical Center
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Heather MacNew, MD-Program Director:  
[ heather.macnew2@hcahealthcare.com ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Heather MacNew, Savannah, GA)

Hawaii

University of Hawaii
2 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Lori Bland-Program Coordinator:  [ lbland@hawaiiresidency.org ]
(10/16/2019 – Submitted by:  Gary Belcher, Honolulu, HI)

Illinois

Northwestern Medicine
2 SCC Fellowship Positions
Contact:  Nabil Issa, MD – Program Director:
[ nissa@northwestern.edu ]
(10/16/2019 – Submitted by: Nissa Issa, Chicago, IL)

Loyola University Medical Center
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:   Hieu Ton-That, MD – Program Director:  [ jhton@lumc.edu ]  or
Natasha Jones -Program Coordinator:  [ natajones@lumc.edu ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Natasha Jones, Maywood, IL)

University of Illinois College of Medicine/Metropolitan Group Hospital Program
1 SCC Fellowship Position
Contact:  Eloisa Buenaventura – Program Coordinator:
[ eloisa.buenavantura@advocatehealth.com ]
(10/16/2019 – Submitted by:  Eloisa Buenaventura, Chicago, IL)

Michigan

Detroit Medical Center/Wayne State University
2 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Steven Tennenberg, MD -Program Director:  
[ stennenb@dmc.org ]
313-745-8773 (secretary Amber Wilson)
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Steven Tennenberg, Detroit, MI)

Michigan State University/Spectrum Health
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Elizabeth Steensma, MD, FACS -Program Director:  
[ elizabeth.steensma@spectrumhealth.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Elizabeth Steensma, Grand Rapids, MI)

Henry Ford Hospital-Detroit
2 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Deshira Davis -Program Coordinator:  [ ddavis3Whfhs.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Deshira Davis, Detroit, MI)

Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Medicine
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Dawn Steinfadt -Program Coordinator:  
[ sccfellowship@mayo.edu ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Dawn Steinfadt, Rochester, MN)

Missouri

University of Missouri
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Beth Eiken -Program Coordinator:  [ eikenb@health.missouri.edu ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Jacob Quick, Columbia, MO)

New Jersey

Saint Joseph’s University Medical Center
1 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Alan Sori, MD, FACS -Program Director:
[ sori@sjhmc.org ]  or
Denise Laneve-Program Coordinator:  [ laneved@sjhmc.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Alan Sori SCCPDS member, Paterson, NJ)

Ohio

Wright State University Boonsoft School of Medicine
1 SCC Fellowship Positions – 1 Year
Contact:  Mbaga Walusimbi, MD, FACS-Program Director:
[ mbaga.walusimbi@wright.edu  ]  or
Christina Molnar -Program Coordinator:  [ christina.molnar@wright.edu ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Christina Molnar SCCPDS, Dayton, OH)

Pennsylvania

Reading Hospital (Tower Health)
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Thomas A. Geng, Jr., DO, FACS -Program Director:  
[ thomas.geng@towerhealth.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Thomas Geng, Jr., Reading, PA)

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Hospital, Alpert Medical School of Brown University
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Leslie Cabana -Program Coordinator:  401-444-0326
[ lcabana@lifespan.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Leslie Cabana, Providence, RI)

Texas

Houston Methodist Hospital (Texas Medical Center)
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Daniel J. Bonville, DO, FACS-Program Director:  
[ djbonville@houstonmethodist.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Tanja La Spina, Houston, TX)

The University of Texas Medical Branch
2 SCC Fellowship Position – (Burned Based SCC)
Contact:  Jong O. Lee, MD -Program Director:  
[ jolee@utmb.edu ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Jong O. Lee, Galveston, TX)

Virginia

Carilion Clinic
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Tina D. Toms -Program Coordinator:  [ tdtoms@carilionclinic.org ]
(10/17/2019 – Submitted by:  Tina D. Toms, Roanoake, VA)

Inova Fairfax Hospital
1 SCC Fellowship Position – 1 Year
Contact:  Sarah Hamad-Program MAnager:  [ sarah.hamad@inova.org ]
(10/16/2019 – Submitted by:  Sarah Hamad, Fall Church, VA)

Updated 10/18/19


APPOINTMENT YEAR:  2019

FLORIDA

University of Central Florida
2 SCC Fellowship Positions
Contact:  Linda White:  [ linda.white5@hcahealthcare.com ]
(11/16/2018 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Linda White, Ocala, FL)

GEORGIA

Medical Center Navicent Health (Medical Center of Central Georgia)
2 SCC Fellowship Positions
Program Coordinator:  Virgina Land:  [ land.virginia@navicenthealth.org ]
(10/11/2018 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Dennis Ashley, Macon, GA)

Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
1 SCC Fellowship Position
Contact:   Terence O’Keeffe:  [ tokeeffe@augusta.edu ] or Cassandra White:  [ caswhite@augusta.edu ]
(04/11/2019 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Terence O’Keeffe, Augusta, GA)

ILLINOIS

University of Chicago
1 SCC Fellowship Position
Program Director:  Nikunj Chokshi, MD:  [ chokshi@uchicago.edu ]
(04/23/2019 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Nikunj Chokshi, Chicago, IL)

MISSISSIPPI

University of Mississippi Medical Center
1 SCC Fellowship Position
Education Administrator:  Jodi Boyd:  [ jboyd@umc.edu ]
(10/11/2018 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Theresa Robertson, Jackson, MS)

SOUTH CAROLINA

Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System
1 SCC Fellowship Position (1 year)
Program Director:  Kristine Lombardozzi, MD:  [ klombardozzi@srhs.com ]
(10/22/2018 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Kristine Lombardozzi, Spartanburg, SC)

VIRGINIA

Carilion Clinic-Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
2 SCC Fellowship Positions
Program Coordinator:  Tina D. Toms:  [ tdtoms@carilionclinic.org ]
(10/12/2018 – Submitted by SCCPDS member:  Bryan Collier, Roanoke, VA)

Updated:  06/25/2019